How Time Flies….

Salam Sisters!  Subhanallah its been a while since I’ve come here.  Apologies to those who have been waiting for a new update and have been left disappointed.  In this past month for two weeks, Chatterbox was ill and so homeschooling was completely off :(.  The next two weeks, something possessed us to go into B&Q and buy loads of paint etc to redecorate our whole home!  We was only meant to get damp concealer paint and ended up buying more or less the whole store (not literally ofcourse).  We are now STILL in the process of finishing decor.

Anyhoo, apart from that… my baby – Chatterbox, turned five years old this week!  How time flies, hey?  Alhamdulillah.  I am now in the process of slowly getting back into the vibe of homeschooling, am very disappointed in myself, that have been off for so long!  Ofcourse this is inevitable for homeschoolers I know, so I really shouldnt be!

I realised during this month of not homeschooling, that its ok to take a breather once in a while.  No point homeschooling if your getting stressed and frazzled, you’ll only do more damage than actually acheive in teaching something.  Ofcourse we are not like regular teachers.  Whilst teaching, at the same time we are cooking, cleaning, yelling at our kids etc.  So what do we do at such a time, where we feel we need a break?  Answer is simple: dont stress!  Just go with the flow.  Take a break!

Here are some of the things I did during the month of not homeschooling:

*make him read, in the kitchen with me, whilst I cooked/cleaned

*made him to draw stuff and explain his imagination to me, allowing him to make a story in his head

*help around the house a little more

*Tiger wanted to watch ‘Thomas the tank engine’ dvd, so I thought hmm how shall I adapt that for Chatterbox…. I put the subtitles on!  He was watching a cartoon whilst reading aswell!  Alhamdulillah he was so concentrated on the reading, he noticed how the narration was missing some words out etc

*colouring/writing/worksheets

etc!!!

So thats, that for now.  Inshallah now I am slowly getting back into the flow of homeschooling.  It has been a while, so because of that I’m not leaping straight back into my usual routine and rather I’m taking things slowly.  Inshallah keep your eyes peeled on this space.

Also if you havent joined my fb page yet, please do!  You’ll know through thier when I’ve posted a new post etc, thus saving you from keep on checking and I also post up my resource/sites recommendations etc.

So take care sisters and inshallah catch up soon!

 

Leave a Reply

